Qing Cao

Ackerman Faculty Scholars Announced

Five faculty members from the School of Business have been named Ackerman Scholars for academic years 2015-2017. They are: John Phillips of Accounting, Rex Santerre of Finance, Greg Reilly of Management, Girish Punj of Marketing and Bob Day of Operations and Information Management (OPIM).

Continuing from last year, for academic year 2015-2016, are: Qing Cao and Gary Powell of Management and Xue Bai, Jose Cruz and Suresh Nair of OPIM.

The Ackerman Scholar award recognizes significant and continuing all-round academic productivity among the faculty of the School, said Sulin Ba, associate dean of academic and research support. It is awarded to faculty who are not already supported by endowed chair, professorship, scholarship or fellowship appointments. The award is supported by the Ackerman Fund, the School of Business and the departments.


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Addthis

Honor, Wisdom, Earnestness: Faculty and Students Recognized for Academic Achievements

School of Business Awards and Honors
The best and brightest of UConn School of Business were honored Friday morning, April 25 at the 2014 School of Business Awards & Honors ceremony. Honorees, family and friends gathered in the Dave Ivry Seminar Classroom at the School of Business in Storrs for the annual celebration, where 2014 Student Hall of Fame Fellows were recognized, Ackerman Scholars were awarded, Faculty Awards were presented, and new members were officially inducted to the Beta Gamma Sigma honor society.Continue Reading

Ph.D. Student Teaching Awards 2013

On February 27, business PhD students and coordinators for the five Ph.D. concentrations celebrated student accomplishments during the last year at the sixth annual “Ph.D. Student Night of Appreciation.” School of Business Dean John Elliott was also in attendance, providing the doctoral students with an opportunity to chat with him informally.

At this event, we announced the winners of the school’s 2013 PhD Student Teaching Awards. Each of the five Ph.D. program concentrations gave a teaching award to a qualified student in their concentration. The coordinators of the five concentrations (John Phillips – ACCT, Joseph Golec – FNCE, Qing Cao – MGMT, Bill Ross – MKTG, and Jan Stallaert – OPIM) then decided as a group which of the winners of a teaching award in a concentration would receive this year’s School of Business teaching award. Dean Elliott made the announcement.

The winners of the 2013 teaching awards in each concentration are:

Accounting – Elizabeth Kohl

Finance – Tingyu Zhou

Marketing – Jeff Carlson

Management – Lauren D’Innocenzo

OPIM – Gang Wang

The winner of the 2013 School of Business Ph.D. Teaching Award (program-wide) is:

Management – Lauren D’Innocenzo

Please join us in congratulating these doctoral students for their superb performance in the classroom and as outstanding teacher-scholars.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Addthis