Carmelo Giacotto


A view of the School of Business on April 28, 2015. (Peter Morenus/UConn Photo)
A view of the UConn School of Business. (Peter Morenus/UConn Photo)

School Honors Faculty Whose Accomplishments Shine Brightly; Professor Golec Awarded ‘Research Excellence’ Honor

Finance professor Joe Golec, a scholar who keeps a running list of at least 100 potential research topics at all times, was awarded the School of Business’ top honor this spring, its Award for Research Excellence.

Meanwhile accounting professors Yanhua “Sunny’’ Yang and Michael Willenborg earned the School of Business’ Best Paper award for a highly regarded research paper about IPO prices. One of the reasons she chose to work at UConn, Yang said, was the value the University places on research distinction. Continue Reading

12th Annual Real Estate Center Awards Banquet

The 12th Annual Real Estate Awards Banquet was held at the South Campus Ballroom on Thursday, May 1. The special occasion recognized outstanding students, alumni, and scholarship recipients.

The following alumni and students were recognized for their achievements:


  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Daniel Ferraina, Ferraina Companies


  • Distinguished Alumni: Michael Riccio, CB-Richard Ellis Capital Markets


  • Alumni of the Year: Bradford Wainman, Simon Konover Development Corp.


  • Early Career Alumni: Kelsey Rath, Talcott Realty Investors, LLC


  • Organizational Partner: Greater New Haven Association of Realtors



  • Students of the Year: Frances (Frankie) Gibbons and Andrew Kelly

Other student award recipients included: Nicolas Chapman, Tyler Cormier, Julia Dumaine, Andrew Harney, Scott Howard, M. Connor Lyman, Matthew McCandless, Cole McQuilken, Johncarlo Morales, Benjamin Napoli, Bridget O’Malley, Laura O’Malley, Ryan Powers, Peter Rodriguez, Colby Schaefer, Austin Smyth, Melissa Touger, Kristine Victor, and Hui Zhang.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Addthis