Alumni News and Notes


David P. Marks ’69, ’71 MBA has joined Conning Holdings Corporation’s Board of Directors as an independent director.


Stephen J. Enright ’72 has been promoted to senior vice president at Diamond Healthcare Corporation.

Christopher J. Kelleher ’77 was promoted to senior managing director and head of institutional asset management at Newfleet Asset Management.

James M. Mahoney ’79 has been elected the new CPA and managing partner of Mahoney Sabol & Company, LLP, and has been appointed to chairman of the Board of Directors for the Hospital for Special Care in New Britain.

Rakesh Narang ’74 MBA was recognized by the Global Organization of People of Indian Origin as an outstanding member of Indian-American community in the category of Entrepreneurship and Business Acumen.


David L. Albrycht ’89 MBA has been inducted into the CCSU Business Hall of Honors.

Christopher A. Bleck ’80, ’88 MBA has been appointed to the Product Advisory Board of Alcresta.

James E. Cotter ’82 has been appointed to executive vice president and chief operating officer of Naugatuck Valley Financial Corporation.

Deborah R. Gordon ’88 MBA has been appointed to chief learning and development officer at Boyden in New York City.

William J. Hagist ’80 MBA has been named president and chief executive officer of the Enfield Community Federal Credit Union.

Paul H. Kauffman ’84 has been appointed as a managing director at Jones Lang LaSalle in its Stamford office.

Todd A. Krygier ’87 has been named the new coach of the Muskegon Lumberjacks, a tier one junior hockey team in Michigan.

Edward F. Lange Jr. ’86 MBA has been appointed to the position of chief executive officer of Holiday Retirement.

Scott R. Lewis ’85 has been promoted to senior vice president and controller of The Hartford.

Lee R. Schlesinger ’82 received the Mary H. Connolly Community Caring Award for outstanding service to the United Way and the entire community.

Donald E. White ’89, ’00 EMBA has been appointed to serve as the executive vice president and chief financial officer of Salisbury Bank and Trust Company.


Andrew N. Albert ’92 MBA has been named managing director in the equity sales and trading group at R.W. Pressprich.

Paulette R. Alviti ’92 has been appointed to senior vice president and chief of human resources at Foot Locker.

Christopher L. Ayers ’96 EMBA has been appointed to president and chief executive officer at WireCo WorldGroup in Kansas City.

Richard L. Baran ’93 MBA, JD has been named as chief financial officer at MediaShift, Inc.

Shawn R. Fields ’99 has been selected as the new C.H. Booth library director.

Heidi M. Goldstein ’95 has been promoted to principal of Altus Capital Partners, Inc.

Robert L. Howard Jr. ’93 has been appointed as a partner directing the public sector practice at Mahoney Sabol & Company, LLP.

Gregory P. Lewis ’91 has been named the vice president and chief financial officer of Automation and Control Solutions.

Gary T. McCollum ’94 EMBA has been listed on “The Power List: 75 people who shape and influence Hampton Roads.”

James M. Yanosy ’92 has been promoted to chief financial officer for consumer markets at The Hartford.

Christopher R. Zell ’97 MBA has been appointed senior client manager of specialized industries for the Connecticut market by Bank of America.


Ashley M. Battle ’04, ’05 (CLAS) was named Chartiers Valley High School’s girls basketball coach.

Christina S. Brown ’08 was promoted to assistant vice president and sales and service manager at Encore Bank N.A. located in Bonita Springs, Florida.

Bryan P. Hurlburt ’02 has been appointed to farm service agency state executive director for the United States Department of Agriculture by President Obama.

Jennifer A. Lambert ’02 MBA was appointed vice president of marketing at Crosman Corporation.

Ann L. Lovejoy ’02 MBA has been appointed as a quality improvement specialist at Mountain-Pacific Quality Health.

Hang T. Nguyen ’08, ’13 Ph.D. successfully defended her dissertation titled, “Three Essays on the Financial Impacts of Branding Strategies and Marketing Assets” and will begin a tenure-track position at Michigan State University.

Daniel D. Pinho ’02 MBA has been recognized as one of the “20 Under 40 Latinos Going Places” by Poder 360 magazine.

Nykesha S. Sales ’00 was named the community liaison to the assistant coaching staff for the Connecticut Sun.

Melanie E. Thomas ’08 has been inducted into Mount Notre Dame’s Hall of Fame for being the all-time leading scorer in the History of the School’s basketball program.


Danielle Higgins ’13 Ph.D. successfully defended her dissertation titled Communicating Information Beyond the Tax Footnote: Effective Tax Rate Forecasts in the MD&A and will be joining the faculty at CUNY – Baruch College in the Fall of 2013.

Ronald S. Liu ’11 and Thomas Wang ’11 will be opening a Japanese restaurant, Haru Aki Café at Storrs Center in the Fall of 2013.

What’s new with you?

Submit your career, education, or personal announcements to the Business Alumni Network

What is the Business Alumni Network?

The Business Alumni Network is a free resource offered to all School of Business alumni and is an excellent tool for networking with fellow alumni and current students. Visit

Submit Photos

You can submit a photo with your news and notes online, but you can also email us photos of you and your fellow alumni for possible inclusion in the magazine! Email high-resolution photos to:

* Links attached to alumni names point to that alum’s profile in the Business Alumni Network‘s alumni directory, when applicable.  The Business Alumni Network is a free password-protected resource for UConn School of Business alumni and includes features such as news and notes, event calendar, alumni directory, and career services. For more information including how to access the Business Alumni Network, contact the School’s Office of Alumni Relations at


UConn Business | Volume 3, Issue 3 | Summer 2013